The tennis coach to the stars

simo1

Simo Alami has been coaching tennis for 24 years at Breaker’s Hotel in Palm Beach, Florida. He’s coached up-and-coming professionals and celebrities like Dustin Hoffman and George Clooney. 

Read on to learn more about the talented tennis coach for the stars:

Tell us about yourself:
I was born in Morocco and have been playing tennis since I was eight years old. When I was 19, I came to the US on a tennis scholarship. I played tennis in college and have been teaching and coaching since. I thought I would only teach for two years or so, but I love it so much that I’ve been doing it for 24 years!

simoracket

What are some of the best moments you’ve had coaching tennis?

I coached my cousin who was ranked number 25 in the world. In 1996 in Atlanta, he beat Michael Chang in the finals of a tournament. I was proud of him as a coach and also a family member!

As for teaching, all the actors and actresses are so amazing. I’ve had the chance to play with George Clooney, Dustin Hoffman, and people who I always see on television!

I met President Clinton when I was teaching in a family’s home in Martha’s Vineyard. The President and his wife were staying at the house too. He’d just had surgery so couldn’t play tennis, but his daughter Chelsea did play for a bit.

What equipment do you always recommend to your clients?

I like Wilson rackets (like this and this). They are sharper than any other brand. There are great options for all types of players. 

For tennis balls, I recommend Penn or Wilson because they will last longer.

I also like to use a ball machine for people who have their courts in their homes. It’s a great way to practice and do repetitions.

simoshirt

What’s in your tennis bag?

I don’t even carry a bag anymore, but I would definitely have sunscreen, rubber bands for warming up, bananas, and drinks like Gatorade.

Thanks, Simo! Now we are going to gear for a match. As they say in tennis, LUV all! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment